U2 Travelguide

U2 Travelguide » U2 Travelguide » Dublin


Dublin

Dublin – or Baile Átha Cliath, as it is known in Gaelic. U2’s hometown, the city they grew up in and despite their success have never turned their backs on. Dublin has changed a lot over the recent years and – partly supported by EU funds – the city is now showing itself at its best. It is definitely worth a journey, not just in order to explore U2’s rise and background – it has become one of the most exciting cities in Europe.

In our travelguide you will find all the important places where U2 history has taken place – from its beginnings in Bono’s and Larry’s childhood homes in the city’s north, via their first gigs in local pubs, to the legendary Windmill Lane and U2’s current home base, the Hanover Quay Studios.

Most of these U2 sights in Dublin can be reached by foot, only for some sights in the suburbs more mobility is required. Bus tickets are available at the official ticket offices, and it may be worth purchasing a multiple day ticket – both will take you directly to such places as Kilmainham Gaol.

Apart from U2 sights there is of course much more to see and do in Dublin. No one should miss shopping around O'Connell Street, going out in the evening in Temple Bar, a visit to Bow Street (Jameson Whiskey Distillery), or a visit to the Guinness Hopstore. We recommend the travel guide 'Vis a vis Dublin' by DK Eyewitness Travel Guides as well as the pop-out map by Mapgroup for the inner city area (both available in Dublin’s book stores and tourist shops, or the entrance area to the 'Book of Kells' in Trinity College). Those wanting to travel further around Ireland should have a look at the 'Vis a Vis, Ireland' travel guide, which also includes most of the information contained in the Dublin guide.


Wähle die Sprache

  •   

Suche | XML | Mobile Version | Bookmark | Topicon

U2 Travelguide

U2 Travelguide » Dublin


Dublin

Dublin - oder Baile Átha Cliath, wie es auf gälisch heißt. U2s Hometown, die Stadt, in der sie groß geworden sind, und der sie trotz des riesen Erfolges nie den Rücken gekehrt haben. Viel hat sich getan in Dublin, auch mit Hilfe von EU-Geldern zeigt sich die Stadt in den letzten Jahren von ihrer besten Seite. So ist sie, nicht nur um auf den Wegen von U2 zu wandeln, auf jeden Fall eine Reise wert - Dublin hat sich zu einer der Top-Städte in Europa hochgearbeitet.

In unserem Travelguide findet ihr alle wichtigen Stationen im Leben von U2, welche in Dublin ihren Ursprung im Norden der Stadt haben. Von den Elternhäusern von Bono und Larry, über die ersten Stationen und Auftritte in Pubs, hin zur legendären Windmill Lane und ihrem derzeitigen Zentrum, den Hanover Quay Studios.

Viele dieser U2-Sehenswürdigkeiten sind in Dublin zu Fuß erreichbar. Lediglich für die Außenbezirke ist etwas Mobilität gefragt. Bustickets gibt's an den ausgewiesenen Verkaufsstellen, Mehrtageskarten lohnen sich auf jeden Fall und man wird zu solchen Punkten wie dem Kilmainham Gaol direkt hingebracht.

Neben all diesen U2-Sehenswürdigkeiten gibt es natürlich noch viel mehr in Dublin zu sehen. Shopping rund um die O'Connell Street, Ausgehen in Temple Bar, ein Besuch in der Bow Street (Jameson Whiskey Distillery), sowie ein Besuch im Guinness Hopstore gehören zum Pflichtprogramm in Dublin. Sehr ans Herz legen können wir euch den Reiseführer 'Vis a vis Dublin' von DK Eyewitness Travel Guides sowie für den innerstädtischen Bereich die Dublin Popout-Map von Mapgroup, welche in einschlägigen Geschäften in Dublin sowie im Eingangsbereich vom 'Book of Kells' im Trinity College zu finden ist. Wer sich auch noch in Irland umsehen möchte, dem können wir 'Vis a Vis, Irland' empfehlen, er enthält im wesentlichen auch den gesamten Inhalt des Dublin-Reiseführers.


Change language

  •   

Suche | XML | Mobile Version | Bookmark | Topicon