U2 Travelguide

U2 Travelguide » Dublin » Windmill Lane - Windmilllane Studios


Info

U2 recorded their first albums here. In particular, it is where 'Boy', 'October', the single 'A Celebration', and 'War' saw the light of day with producer Steve Lillywhite, as well as of course U2’s first EP 'U2Three' (produced by Chas De Whalley). Parts of 'The Unforgettable Fire' were first recorded in Slane Castle with producers Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois, and were then completed here. Also the final version of 'The Joshua Tree' was recorded in Windmill Lane as well as Dublin’s 'STS Studios'.

In 1989 the Windmill Lane Recording Studios moved to Ringsend Road. Today there are new studios in the building again, with the confusingly similar name Windmill Lane Studios. It is now mainly used for TV and other multimedia projects, though.

The legendary U2 Wall is still located here, covered with tributes from U2 fans from across the world. The Graffities are covered by new ones very often, so not too many U2 graffities can be seen anymore.

Adress

Windmill Lane

Directions

Dublinkarte Nr. 1 | From O'Connell Bridge follow the river along its south bank past the Dockers Pub, until you reach Creighton St. There turn right, and then left into Windmill Lane.


Images

Die Bilder zu diesem Video stehen leider zur Zeit nicht zur Verfügung. Der Server, auf dem die Bilder gespeichert sind, ist leider zur Zeit nicht erreichbar (Error 110: 'Connection timed out'). Fragen? Schreibe eine E-Mail an uns!


Navigation

  • Language:   
  • Travelguide: « previous | next »

Suche | XML | Mobile Version | Bookmark | Topicon

U2 Travelguide

Dublin » Windmill Lane - Windmilllane Studios


Info

U2 haben hier insbesondere ihre ersten Platten aufgenommen. Hier wurden 'Boy', 'October', die Single 'A Celebration' und 'War' mit dem Produzenten Steve Lillywhite, sowie natürlich U2's erste EP 'U2Three' (Produzent Chas De Whalley) aufgenommen. Teile von 'The Unforgettable Fire' wurden zuerst auf Slane Castle mit den Produzenten Brian Eno und Daniel Lanois aufgenommen, um sie dann in diesen Studios fertig zu stellen. Selbst die endgültigen Aufnahmen von 'The Joshua Tree' fanden auch in den Windmill Lane und 'STS Studios' in Dublin statt.

Im Jahr 1989 sind die Windmill-Studios in die Ringsend Road umgezogen. Heute befinden sich aber wieder Studios in diesen Gebäuden, der Name ist verwirrend ähnlich. Nun werden hier aber hauptsächlich Beiträge für's TV und andere Multimedia-Projekte bearbeitet.

An den Windmill Lane Studios befindet sich auch die legendäre U2 Mauer, auf der sich U2-Fans aus der ganzen Welt verewigt haben. Die Graffitis werden aber immer wieder haufenweise übersprüht, je nach dem sind hier kaum noch U2 Graffitis zu finden.

Adresse

Windmill Lane

Wegbeschreibung

Dublinkarte Nr. 1 | Von der O'Connell Brücke der Südbegrenzung des Flusses folgen, am Dockers Pub vorbei, bis zur Creighton St. Dort rechts abbiegen und dann links in die Windmill Lane.


Navigation

  • Sprache:   
  • Travelguide: « zurück | weiter »

XML | Impressum | Topicon