U2 Travelguide

U2 Travelguide » Berlin » Breschnew-Villa


Info

Located in Potsdam's Nauen suburb, you will find the Mirbach Villa, built in 1874. Still shown by a writing on the balcony, Chamberlein Ernst Freiherr von Mirbach called it "Villa Camilla" after his wife. The von Mirbach family was close to Empress Auguste and the Prussian Army and, in 1945, was evicted by Soviet soldiers.
Due to its location in an upscale neighbourhood close to Cecilienhof Castle and the park around a lake (Heiliger See), the villa soon attracted the attention of Soviet civil servants and was used as guesthouse by the KGB. Among others, Leonid Brezhnev stayed here during his visits to Berlin.

During the Achtung Baby sessions in Berlin in fall/winter 1990, Bono followed Brezhnev's footsteps and also stayed in the Mirbach Villa. Several sources consistently report that one night, when on his way to the bathroom or kitchen and being in his "birthday suit" (or simply: butt naked), Bono met some strangers in the hallways, stating that this villa was their property. They turned out to be descendants of Mirbach, who - following the German re-unification - wanted to reclaim their predecessors property. And it can be assumed that they probably were rather suprised to meet a famous rock star there.

However, it took until 1994 to untangle the legal situation and to return the property to the Mirbach family. Today, the villa is completely refurbished and the individual apartment units are available to rent

Adress

An neuen Garten 25, 14469 Potsdam


Images

   

   

   

   

Account Suspended    

   

   


    Account Suspended

   


   


   


This Account has been suspended.    


    Contact your hosting provider for more information.

   


   


   

Status: 403 Forbidden    Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8

   403 Forbidden

Executing in an invalid environment for the supplied user   


Navigation


XML | Impressum | Topicon

U2 Travelguide

Berlin » Breschnew-Villa


Info

In der Nauener Vorstadt in Potsdam befindet sich die 1874 erbaute Mirbach-Villa. Oberhofmeister Ernst Freiherr von Mirbach nannte sie "Villa Camilla" nach seiner Frau, was ein Schriftzug im Balkon noch heute beweist. Die Familie von Mirbach war eng mit Kaiserin Auguste und dem preußischen Militär verbunden und wurde 1945 von Soldaten der sowjetischen Armee vertrieben.
Durch die gehobenere Wohnlage in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Schloss Celilienhof und der Parkanlage um den Heiligen See wurde sowjetische Staatsbedienstete auf die Villa aufmerksam und sie wurde als Gästehaus des KGBs genutzt. So war auch Leonid Breschnew bei seinen Berlinbesuchen hier untergebracht.

Während der Aufnahmen zu Achtung Baby im Spätherbst 1990 in Berlin, trat Bonos in diese Stapfen und nächtigte dort ebenfalls. Mehrere Quellen berichten übereinstimmend, dass er eines Nachts auf dem Weg zu Bad oder Küche, in Adams Kostüm fremde Menschen im Haus antraf, die behaupteten, es sei ihr Eigentum. Es waren die Nachkommen von Mirbach, die nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung das Haus ihrer Vorfahren rechtmäßig wieder in Besitz nehmen wollten. Und auch sie müssen wohl ziemlich überrascht gewesen sein, plötzlich dort einen Rockstar vorzufinden.
Allerdings konnte nach Klärung der Rechtslage die Villa erst 1994 an die Familie von Mirbach übergeben werden. Heute ist das Haus komplett saniert und wohnungsweise vermietet.

Adresse

An neuen Garten 25, 14469 Potsdam


Navigation

  • Sprache:   
  • Travelguide: « zurück | weiter »

XML | Impressum | Topicon