U2 Travelguide

U2 Travelguide » Ireland » Slane Castle


Info

U2 connects something really special with Slane Castle. Located in the beautiful Boyne Valley it can be hired for weddings, conferences or the like. Once a year it is also a venue for concerts. Already in 1981 U2 had their first performance as a support act for Thin Lizzy. History continues in 1984, when U2 made recordings for 'The Unforgettable Fire' in the rooms of the castle. Lord Henry Mountcharles, Slane Castle’s owner, talked about that in an interview published in Hotpress Magazine in August 2004 (News).

In 1991 the eastern part of the castle was damaged by fire. Restorations finished in 2001.

U2's return to Slane Castle equally took place in 2001, after permission was granted for a concert on 1 September. Unsurprisingly the concert sold out very fast, and since November 2003 it is available on DVD as 'U2 Go Home'.

Adress

Slane

Directions

Irelandkarte Nr. 2 | Basically there are two possibilities to get from Dublin down to Slane Castle. The easiest route should be to follow the N2. The fastest route is via the motorway M1 (a charge applies) west of Drogheda, then turn on the N51. In Slane drive up the hill in the direction of Navan. Shortly after Slane you can already see a fence on the right side, behind which is the estate of Slane. A few meters further, through an archway, you get directly up to the castle.


Navigation


XML | Impressum | Topicon

U2 Travelguide

Irland » Slane Castle


Info

Mit Slane Castle verbindet U2 etwas ganz Besonderes. Im schönen Boyne Tal gelegen ist es für Hochzeiten, Konferenzen und ähnliches zu mieten, ein Mal im Jahr ist es auch Austragungsort von Konzerten. Schon 1981 hatten U2 ihren ersten Auftritt als Vorgruppe von Thin Lizzy. Die Geschichte geht im Jahre 1984 weiter, als U2 in den Räumen des Schlosses Aufnahmen für das neue Album 'The Unforgettable Fire' machte. Lord Henry Mountcharles, der Besitzer von Slane Castle, äußerte sich im August 2004 darüber in einem Interview mit dem Hotpress-Magazin (News).

Im Jahre 1991 wurde der Ostteil des Schlosses durch ein Feuer stark in Mitleidenschaft gezogen, die Restaurierung wurde im Jahre 2001 abgeschlossen.

Die Rückkehr von U2 nach Slane Castle fand ebenfalls im Jahr 2001 statt: Nachdem das erste Konzert am 1. September genehmigt. Natürlich war auch dieses Konzert innerhalb kürzester Zeit ausverkauft und ist seit Nov. 2003 auch auf DVD unter dem Namen 'U2 Go Home' erhältlich.

Adresse

Slane

Wegbeschreibung

Irlandkarte Nr. 2 | Im Wesentlichen gibt es mit dem Auto 2 Möglichkeiten von Dublin nach Slane zu kommen. Die einfachste ist wohl der N2 zu folgen. Der schnellste Weg führt aber über die (gebührenpflichtige) Autobahn M1, westlich von Drogheda geht es dann auf die N51. In Slane den Hügel rauf und Richtung Navan fahren. Kurz nach Slane seht ihr auf der linken Seite schon einen Zaun, dahinter verbirgt sich das Grundstück um das Castle, ein paar Meter weiter geht es durch einen steinernen Torbogen direkt bis vor das Schloß.


Navigation


XML | Impressum | Topicon